03 / 22 / 2020

I roll over, sleep still clouding my eyes, to try and find the light that should be filling my room. My vision is still fuzzy, but I am awake enough to know that I shouldn’t be at this hour. The trees standing guard outside my window seems to shake at me, warning me that it is far too early for me to  awake.

I roll  back over, even as my body creaks and protests. The time is brightly illuminated on the screen, and I nearly moan when I see it. I don’t have to be awake for another six hours and I begin to recognize the weight of each of limbs. As I begin to wake up, my mind doesn’t clear. It remains fuzzy, but lets me know that today is going to be difficult.

One thought on “03 / 22 / 2020”

  1. The way you have described this is very familiar and remarkably well done, in spite of it describing what may have been a very hard day.

    I’ve been having trouble sleeping as well, which might be why this line – “I am awake enough to know that I shouldn’t be at this hour” resonated with me.

    Thinking of you and hoping for a better day tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *